QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

A vicious cycle

Posted on: September 2, 2009

Being unhealthy is a vicious cycle.

Most of us know how it goes. Everything is going smoothly, you’re working hard, until something happens to get you off track. It starts with a missed workout, or an extra cookie when you know you shouldn’t have it. Next thing you know you’re throwing all your hard work aside.

So it has been for me the past two months. I was on a roll for a while. I’d lost weight, I was getting toned, I was eating well….it was almost becoming a habit. Then I reached a milestone, and I just stopped. I stopped going to dance class, I started eating junk (because I hadn’t had any in so long!), then I started to forget why I’d been making changes in the first place. Then I started to get depressed (eating crap, not doing exercise, and knowing that you’re slacking off can do that for you….and then you add normal hormone fluctuations to that and it can lead to disaster). Since I was stressed out at work, and depressed the rest of the time I started to eat. Instead of getting up to workout I chose sleep. I did nothing. In turn that depressed me even more, brought me to keep eating, and hiding in my corner of the world.

It is a dangerous and vicious cycle.

I’m not entirely back on track. In fact, just last night I had two bowls of Lucky Charms before dinner and I didn’t even try to stop myself. This morning I had three cookies. Just because they were there. I need to make changes in my thoughts, I’m still really stressed out at work, and I have a long way to go. Even though I’m no model citizen I’m ready to come out of “hiding” and come back to my blog I abandoned at the beginning of the summer. In other words, I need to start taking small steps in order to break this cycle.

So, to anyone out there reading….thanks! I’m impressed you even kept my blog on your radar. (And just a hint, I may be having a giveaway in the very near future!) I’m ready to pick up the pieces and move on, so look forward to regular posts once again!

Leave a Reply

