QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

Back to Business

Posted on: September 12, 2009

Just a couple of days after making my big “come-back” post, I left on vacation.  However, I must say it was kind of a good thing.

You see, I flew over to meet some friends….who happen to be runners that are currently training for some long races (a half and a full marathon), so logically two things happened. 1) They led me to eat slightly healthier than I normally would on vacation, and 2) they exercised…..and so did I. I didn’t do anything crazy, like run 10 miles (or run 1, even), but we cooked, we hiked, and we walked. Well, I walked, lol.

All in all, I probably walked close to 2 miles one morning, went on a 2+ mile hike (and found out I was OUT OF SHAPE, although that shouldn’t have been a surprise. It’s always disheartening when little kids zoom past you as you’re huffing and puffing along your way.), and then we went on the big one…..an 8 MILE hike! And I did it! So proud of myself. Although my friends were probably secretly horrified it took us 3 hours, lol.

Anyway, I’m now back at home (in my new apartment, by the way) and this morning I finally decided to get those shoes back on. I woke up at 7:45, got dressed, stretched a little, and grabbed the iPod. I’d roughly mapped out a little path….2.2 miles in total and decided that the Couch-to-5k Week 3 would be a good place to start, and it was. Its the 90 second run interval and recovery, and a 3 minute run interval and recovery, done twice. The good news is I was able to do most of it….the bad news is I skipped 90 seconds of running (half of the last 3 minute interval). All in all, I’m happy I got up and exercised.

So, I think I’m on my way back. Tomorrow I’m planning on doing the same, and I will do the WHOLE workout! I WILL run that 5k in November!

Leave a Reply

