QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

November Week 1, Part 2 Recap

Posted on: November 10, 2009

I didn’t mention it yesterday, but I had a great weekend. One of those elusive ones that is really just 2 days, feels like it was a bit longer. For the first time in a while I actually felt refreshed on Monday! I definitely think one of the highlights was knowing that I kept with my goal to work out every day!

So, starting where I left off on Monday….

Friday, November 6
On Thursday I finally found my Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD. Never have I been more excited about getting home to work out! So I rushed home on Friday, had a snack, and put on my workout gear.

Jillian did not disappoint. It was just as exhausting as I remembered, and I unfortunately wimped out on a few moves. (My arms are pretty wimpy.) However I am very excited to be able to add this back into my workouts. It has the cardio and strength component that some other DVDs weren’t giving me.

Saturday, November 7
After last night’s workout I figured I needed to let my legs rest a tiny bit, so I didn’t go for my run as I originally planned. Instead I did the Core Secrets/Ab Assault DVD. This time I’m not sure what I did differently, but I struggled a tiny bit more than I normally do.

I definitely feel that this workout works my core, but I never really get into much of a sweat, and that’s a little disappointing. I mentioned this to the BF, and he’s going to check his DVDs for the workout that is supposed to follow the Ab Assault. It’s a bit longer and is a bit more strenuous. We’ll see how that turns out!

Saturday night we went to the movies, and for some reason after we got out of there my lower calf area was HURTING! It was a good hurt, but I still can’t explain why it took a whole day to set in. lol.

Sunday, November 8
Sunday morning my lower legs were still seriously sore. Added to that was a new bicep soreness in my left arm, lol. I was a little worried about my impending run that evening. We did a lot of walking around in the afternoon, and then later I had my dance class (where I’m pleased to report we worked up quite a sweat!).

Afterwards I came back and decided to go ahead with my run. Couch to 5k, Week 5, Day 2. Two intervals of 8 minutes running and 5 minutes recovery. As I head out I figured I’d be happy with just doing the first 8 minutes. That would be the longest I have ever run, and I had already had a long day. And guess what? After I completed the first 8 minute run without stopping (YAY!), I figured I’d give the 2nd interval a shot. AND I DID IT!! I’m SO proud of myself. I’m not sure I have been able to run for 8 minutes straight since high school, or even before that (I never timed myself in high school).

The next workout is supposed to be 20 minutes of straight running. I’m really nervous about it, but if I get it done I’ll give myself permission to moving onto working on my speed. That would probably involve going back to shorter intervals and trying to do them faster than before. As it is now I’m pretty sure I walk faster than I run, and I definitely want to improve on my 5k time from last year!

For now, I have it written in my calendar that on the 14th I’m doing a full 5k practice run. We’ll see how that goes!

1 Response to "November Week 1, Part 2 Recap"

1. LOVE the 30-day Shred…LOVE Jillian. I mean really, really love.

2. You are seriously amazing me with your consistency and drive. I am in awe. And a little intimidated. I feel a burning need to go run on the treadmill while simultaneously lifting 10-pound weights and doing crunches. 🙂

So glad you had a wonderful weekend. You’re right, those are all too few and far between!

V.

Leave a Reply

