QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

November Week 2, Part 1

Posted on: November 13, 2009

I have unofficially decided to follow a certain structure with my workouts. (I say “unofficially” because I’m willing to be a bit flexible and deviate should the need arise, or if anyone suggests something better.) Now that I have my 30 Day Shred DVD again, I have 3 different workouts I can alternate between: running outside, Biggest Loser Weight-loss Yoga, and the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred. I’m reserving the Core Secrets for morning workouts, or we’ll see how this changes when the BF gets me his more advanced CS DVD.

My biggest concern is beating up a particular area….such as my knees. When I started doing the 30 Day Shred every day my knees started to do funky things. This is what I want to avoid. If they start behaving funny I’ll take one of those out and put the Core Secrets back in or something.

Monday, November 9
Monday was odd. When I arrived home I was exhausted so I decided a nap was in order. I woke up around 7pm and really groggy, not wanting to do anything but sleep. Either way, I pulled myself together and did the Yoga video. I didn’t wimp out quite as much as last time, but I’m still not doing it 100%.

Tuesday, November 10
I was supposed to go for a run on Tuesday night, but I decided to switch things up (actually, it was just dark when I got home, so I preferred not to go running outside too late). Instead I did the yoga workout again. I did a bit better, but again, not 100%.

Wednesday, November 11
I had Wednesday off from work, so I woke up bright and early (although still much later than I would on a workday) and went for a run! Unfortunately I don’t think I woke up early enough. At 8:30 it was already pretty hot, and I wimped out on my run. I only made it to 8 minutes (instead of the 20 minutes I was supposed to work on with the Couch to 5k program). Either way, with my race coming up close, I think its time to switch to “speed” improvement on my next run. (I have all of December and January to work on endurance again!)

Thursday, November 12
I went for a run as originally scheduled last night. I debated for a bit which weekly podcast I should use to “train” on “speed”. I decided to go with Week 3 (90 seconds jog, 90 seconds walk, 3 minutes jog, 3 minutes walk, repeat). I started off great. Knowing I only had 90 seconds to run I decided to go “fast”….big strides, strong posture….and it felt great! Until the last 10 seconds when I started to feel like I did at the end of 8 minutes just a few days before. Uh-oh. I walked, and when the next 3 minute jog started I really struggled, as if it was the first day of my training. I thought maybe I had over done it during the first interval, but should I really be this tired? I did complete the workout, but I walked for about 30 seconds towards the end when I wasn’t supposed to. I was so disappointed! (I’m also calculating my mile was at around 15 minutes…..that’s slower than I walk!!!)

I later came to the conclusion that I’m just not eating right. Maybe it’s an excuse, but I really think that’s my problem. I was hungry on the drive home, and yet I only had a slice of cheddar cheese before heading out for my run. That can’t be good, right? It just so happened that before going on my run Wednesday morning I hadn’t had a good breakfast either.

After my run I prepared my dinner, but even after eating I still felt like crap. I can’t keep doing that to myself. Usually my issue is time. If I get home at 6:30 and start cooking it’ll be 7:30 before I eat, and then of course I have to wait for my food settles. I can’t be waiting until 9 to go out for a run though!!! I have to figure stuff out, but running a bit later is better than passing out because I haven’t had anything to eat. (Plus I won’t progress on my running.)

So that was my week. Although I feel like I’ve been slacking a bit (purposely choosing “lighter” workouts over more strenuous ones) I’m really proud that I’ve gone nearly 2 weeks working out every day! It hasn’t even felt like too much of a chore yet! However I’m positive that had I not had this goal I would’ve skipped working out many of those days. So, goals are good, and I’m determined to make it to day 30!

Leave a Reply

