QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

November Week 3, Part 1

Posted on: November 20, 2009

This week was a mess. I skipped a couple of workouts and I feel pretty disappointed with myself. All the same, I’m going to keep pushing towards the end of the month. It’s almost here!

Monday, November 16

After last week I decided to make yet another adjustment. I tried Week 3 of the program but at a faster speed, but that really left me beat. I’m scaling it back just a bit more so I tried out Week 1, which is intervals of 90 seconds jogging and 2 minutes walking. It went much better! I made sure to run fast/hard enough that by the end of the 90 seconds I was out of energy, and the 2 minutes walking was just enough to recover. After reading an article or two about how to increase speed it seems as though interval training is the way to go. And hopefully by the time I go back to my longer/slower intervals I’ll be able to last longer!

 Tuesday, November 17

I was supposed to do the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred on Tuesday, but in the afternoon I got a call from my mom. My sister had invited us over to her house after work. Workout out AND hanging out with them just wasn’t a possibility. I had to choose one. As you can guess I met with my mom and my sister and had a good time. It doesn’t happen every day, so I was ok with the trade off.

 Wednesday, November 18

I was supposed to run on Wednesday….but as you can guess I didn’t. I was pretty emotional at work. To sum it up, I realized there was the slight possibility of a bit of stability in the future at work, however my boss called me out on a screw-up of mine which led me to realize there is no stability for me for now. Anyway, by the time I got out of work I was a mess and spent the evening playing spider solitaire to keep me distracted (and to keep me from bursting into tears again). That is, until the BF got here. Then we watched TV.

 Thursday, November 19

Thursday was supposed to be Core Secrets, but since I’d skipped on my run on Wednesday I decided to run. Once again I used the C25k Week 1, running faster during the running intervals. I definitely feel myself getting stronger, but I still struggle. I’m a little worried about next week’s 5k! I knew I wouldn’t be at the point that running it ALL was a possibility, but I really don’t want to do it slower than last year, and it annoys me that I don’t have a “strategy”. Right now it’s just to focus on the intervals I’ve been working on, but it doesn’t feel enough.

 The race is in less than a week!! So, my training schedule is Saturday morning (I’m planning on a full 5k to get a feel for my time), Sunday evening I’m doing my Week 1 intervals at “full speed”, then Tuesday will be my last practice (Week 1 intervals)!! Should I do anything else on Wednesday night? The race is Thursday at 7:30am, so I don’t want to do anything to strain my legs. Maybe some core secrets? Or perhaps I will just relax. I can’t believe Thanksgiving is so close!

Leave a Reply

