QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

December Week 1

Posted on: December 7, 2009

I debated whether or not I should continue posting these weekly recaps, afterall, I’ll no longer be working out every day. After a couple days though, I realized why not? It’d still be a good idea to track my physical activity, even if it’s just so I don’t lie to myself later on.

Monday, November 30
Remember how I said I was just going to stretch on Monday? Well, I don’t know what got into me, but when I got home I felt like doing the 30 Day Shred! Go me! Of course, I was beat afterwards, and I did some major wimping out. (Particularly with the pushups and random lunges here and there.)

Tuesday, December 1
On Tuesday I was still feeling the shredding, so I did some stretching. It always feels so great! My favorites: the glute stretch and plough. The best part is that I’ve noticed my legs becoming slightly more flexible! When I stretch my hamstrings I can completely grab my foot, whereas when I started the stretching I could just barely grip my toes. I love it when I can see and feel the progress!

Wednesday, December 2
My sister invited us over to her house again, and while I had all the intentions of doing the 30 Day Shred when I got home, I realized I didn’t have enough time to workout and arrive at a decent time. A bit of a bummer, but oh well.

Thursday, December 3
Once again, I gave the 30 Day Shred a try. A few observations: definitely felt better through the cardio, I didn’t feel like wimping out as much at times (although that doesn’t mean I didn’t wimp out a few times), and my arms are really weak, lol.

For the record, I’m stuck right now doing “girly pushups” (you know, using your knees). I’ve tried real pushups, but I’m just no good. So this time when it was time for pushups, instead of furiously trying to do as many half-assed pushups as I can, I decided to do steady and deep (girly) pushups. I probably did a few less than the video, but I think I’ll get more from it this way.

Another trouble spot is the side lunges with lateral raises. I use 5 pound weights for all the other exercises, but for this one I can’t handle the 5 weights, so I’ve been doing them without weights. It makes it much more manageable, and I’ve kept my form better throughout the lunges. Even so, I feel like a weak cheat. So last night I tried using one 5-lb weight for both hands. It still sucked! It felt like I was lifting a 10-pound weight, and I barely got through 10!!! Needless to say, I’m going to have to keep working on this.

Friday, December 4
I could be wrong (my fault for waiting too long to write these recaps), but on Friday I believe I gave myself the day off. Actually, I’m pretty sure I took the day off since I remember that I got moody on Friday night and watched Mad Men for a few hours.

Saturday, December 5
On Saturday I woke up with the intention of working out first thing. Well, that didn’t happen. I finished Season 2 (?) of Mad Men on DVD. The good news is that I did the 30 Day Shred again a few hours after that! The bad news, I must not be eating right because I was seriously wiped out and performed worse than I did on Thursday. I need to start paying more attention to my nutrition! Pushups are starting to feel easier now though…(only slightly).

Sunday, December 6
Sunday was my dad’s birthday, so I contented myself with just going to dance class. Which isn’t a bad thing….it was quite the workout!

Leave a Reply

