QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

Guess what I did today?!

Posted on: December 17, 2009

I woke up at 5am to work out. That’s what.

Let me back up a bit first…..you see, earlier this week I got it into my head that I was ready to start P90X. I’d watched a few of them, and they looked manageable. I think most are close to an hour long, so it isn’t as outrageous as I was convincing myself.

I didn’t have a chance to workout on Monday (I went over to my sister’s house to hang out), then on Tuesday I was finally able to do the first workout. Core Synergystics. It wasn’t horribly difficult! (Just plain difficult, lol) There were several moves I wimped out on, and at least one I couldn’t do at all (just a few wimpy attempts….that would be the Dreya roll), but I got through it without dying! Like most workouts, I think my first one was more of a trial run. I should be working on that video again next week, so I hope it goes better then! I didn’t feel it that day, nor the next morning (only a little in my upper body), but by the evening I could feel it when I stretched my abs or legs. Mmmm….I love that feeling!

Yesterday I didn’t have a chance to workout again since I had to do a Costco run with my mom, in preparation for the Cookie party this weekend. I really wanted to, but I just didn’t want to finish my workout after 9pm. It’s a good thing I didn’t either….I went to my BF’s house around 8, I was a bit hungry so he made me some chicken, but halfway through I felt so crappy I couldn’t finish eating. I got home at 9:40, and was in bed by 10. I was exhausted.

HOWEVER, I knew I didn’t want to wait a whole other day before working out. I knew I wouldn’t be able to work tonight, because my aunt had invited us over to her house after work to celebrate their anniversary. SO, my only option was a morning workout. I woke up at 5am, only pressed snooze once (small victories!), then got dressed and did my workout! Today was “Cardio X”, and it wasn’t as bad as I was expecting! Again, there were many moves I couldn’t do the full reps for, I had to take a couple of breaks and I think it’s partly due to not having eaten enough the night before, but I got through it. (And that damned “Dreya Roll”….grr….)

The next workout is supposed to be Shoulders and Arms, followed by Ab Ripper. Being realistic, I don’t think I’ll be able to do both tonight, so I’m thinking I’ll squeeze in the abs (it’s about 15 minutes or so) if I’m not too stuffed (which I shouldn’t be….since I’m eating “mindfully” and won’t overindulge), and follow that by shoulders and arms in the morning. If I choose to do that, I can’t snooze at all because it’s over an hour, and I have to be at work early ontime tomorrow!

We’ll see. I’m feeling pretty good about this, and I’m hoping I can keep it up!

By the way, I weighed myself after the workout since I forgot to do so before, and I’m down to 161.0 from 163.0 last week! And that’s after having drunk a couple cups of water. I’m sure I sweat a bit, but I’m positive I didn’t sweat several cups worth. lol.

Leave a Reply

