QuarterLife Girl Gets Fit!

Resolutions for 2010

Posted on: January 4, 2010

I love the start of a new year. The possibilities feel endless, you feel like a new person….and it always seems as though THIS is the year you’re going to fulfill your potential. Well, guess what….I’m saying the same thing this year….THIS is the year. 2010 will be the year I make a goal and stick to it.

 You learn a little bit every year. For me, in the past I’ve learned that if I’m not eating enough, no matter how noble my intentions are as they relate to my workouts, I’m not going to be able to progress much. I’ve also learned that half the battle is in your head….once I remove those barriers, I can push myself to move forward. I’ve also learned recently that emotions and mood are no excuse for eating like a maniac. Neither is the fact that you’re surrounded by junk food. It’s all in the choices I make, and from now on, I choose ME. I want to lose this weight. I want to feel good about myself. I want the summer to come and not stay locked up in the house because my thighs are too huge to fit into my jeans, or they feel so heavy because of the heat. I don’t want to have to say no the next time the BF asks if I want to go to the beach. I don’t want to be sitting on the sidelines while everyone else has fun. I want to be happy….and while food will make me momentarily happy as it sits in my mouth, once it’s gone it will only leave me feeling worse. (Anyone recognize that? Lol)

 Anyway, enough of that therapy session sounding rambling. I seriously think 2010 is going to be a good year for my health…because I’m going to make it that way.

 My resolutions this year are simple. My ultimate goal is to feel good about myself. Period. Not necessarily to fit into a size X jean, or weigh X lbs (although they are good indicators). In the end I want to be happy. In order to get there I’m focusing on a few things:

1)      Improve my body image.
My body is what it is….it doesn’t mean I’m going to “let go” and accept weight gain. It means I need to become more comfortable with myself as I am, and accept what I consider to be my flaws. Apparently mirrors are doing me no good, because I always think I look “better” than I really do….looking at myself in pictures horrifies me, but I’m going to fix that. I’m going to start taking pictures of myself in the mornings before heading out to work. I don’t think I’m ready to publish them here on a regular basis, the intent is to get used to seeing myself on a daily basis.

2)      Improve what I put into my body.
I’m all too familiar with junk food and convenience foods. That needs to stop. No more quick fixes, or a bag of popcorn for lunch. If I’m going to be pushing my body, it needs fuel….and good stuff at that.

3)      Stay active.
This one is kind of a no-brainer. When I’m active I feel good. When I’m sedentary, I get cranky. Same goes with food, actually. My emotions are very much related to what I eat and how much I move. For the past few weeks I’ve been working on some P90X. (Now, before some of you gasp at my courage to try it….I discovered it’s as hard as you make it. I get through the workouts….barely….but that’s only because I alter them to fit my abilities. I still can’t do a real pushup, and there’s no way I’ll be doing any pull-ups soon….so for now I do my best and work towards improving during every session.) and I will soon be starting a Fitness Training program that meets twice a week. It’s a good start, but I don’t want that momentum to dwindle when that’s over and done with.

4)      Beware of my negative self-talk.
Reading The Beck Diet book has really made me aware of how much negativity I feed myself (no pun intended). I need to remain aware of my state of mind and how that affects my choices, particularly with my eating. This pretty much relates to the previous 3 items, but I think it’s worth mentioning on its own.

I’d say that’s quite enough for me to focus on during 2010! For the record, as of today I’m at 164 lbs. Next year, I hope to see a marked improvement!

Leave a Reply

